Skip to content

General information

E-mail icon Email

(Semi-)Automatic configuration

Connection information

  1. Use your email address and Nubo password
  2. If you need to enter a server, use mail.nubo.coop
I have to choose between IMAP and POP3. What are they?

Many software packages offer the option of configuring mailboxes as "IMAP" or "POP3".

  • With IMAP, the contents of your entire inbox, including folders and sub-folders, as well as the various message statuses (read, unread, marked, replied to, forwarded...) are synchronized between your devices, so a change on one is reflected on the others.
  • With POP3, your software simply retrieves new messages from the inbox, without taking care of anything else, and deletes them at regular intervals, making them inaccessible on other devices, and deleting them from your webmail.

IMAP is more recent and is the recommended option.

I am being asked for several names (name, account name, full name, user name…). What should I do?

During configuration, you are often asked to enter the name of the person who will use this mailbox. This option can be called "name", "displayed name", "full name", "your name"... This field is free-form, you just have to enter what you want your correspondents to see when they receive your messages.

If you're asked for a "username", then this is the username associated with your account, so you'll need to re-enter your e-mail address (or your Nubo username - both should work).

If you see "account name" or "description", this is again a free-form field which will let you identify the account in the interface of the software or the application you are setting up.

Manual configuration

If that doesn't work, or you need to enter the information yourself, use the parameters below.

Full configuration information
Incoming (receive) Outgoing (send)
Protocol IMAP (or POP3) SMTP
Server mail.nubo.coop mail.nubo.coop
Port 993 465
SSL SSL/TLS SSL/TLS
Authentication Regular password Regular password
Identifier (user name) Your email address Your email address

App Calendar App Tasks App Contacts Calendar, tasks and contacts

Cloud calendars (and associated tasks) use the 'CalDAV' protocol. Contacts use 'CardDAV'. These protocols allow you to synchronize events and tasks with most applications.

You can find links for CalDAV and CardDAV in the calendars and address books themselves. Please note that while the interface of the 'Calendar' and 'Contacts' applications are similar, links are not in the same place.

Finding CalDAV links (calendars)
  1. Navigate to the app 'Calendar' in your cloud
  2. Click '…' next to the calendar that you want to synchronise
  3. Click 'Copy private link CHECK'
  4. Paste the link where you need it

    The link should have the following format: https://cloud.nubo.coop/remote.php/dav/calendars/votre-identifiant/nom-de-lagenda/

  5. Enter your (regular) username and also your app wachtwoord.

Finding CardDAV links (contacts)
  1. Navigate to 'Contacts' in your cloud
  2. Open 'Settings' (in the lower left corner of the screen)
  3. Click '...' next to the address book you want to sync
  4. Click 'copy link'
  5. Paste the link where you need it

    The link should have the following format: https://cloud.nubo.coop/remote.php/dav/addressbooks/users/votre-identifiant/nom-du-carnet-dadresses/

  6. Enter your (regular) username and also your app wachtwoord.

Calendar and contact integration will not work with your Nubo username and password. You must use an app password.

To make an app password

Passwords software enable external applications to be connected using unique passwords.

You can create them and manage them yourself from your cloud.

  1. Open the page 'Security' of your cloud
  2. Enter the app name (at the bottom of the list of devices and sessions recently connected to your account)
  3. Click on 'Create a new app password'
  4. Write down or copy the password displayed, you won't be able to see it after.
  5. Click on 'Finished'
Good to know

When you are creating an app password

  • Give your application a recognisable name, so that you can find it easily in the list of connected sessions.
  • If you did not copy the password, delete the application from the list and start over
  • The QR-code only works with certain application who offer this option when enter login informations

Possible options

Click on the '…' next to an element of the list to display the options - 'Revoke': delete the element from the list, the device or the app will not have access to you account anymore - 'Delete the device' : start a process to erase your data from the application in question - If the application you are configuring does not need access to your files, deselect "Allow access to file manager".


Last update: December 16, 2023