Skip to content

Settings for iOS

Email Icon Email

Apple Mail : follow these steps → Set up manually when you select Other for less common email providers [↗ Apple Support] with the connection information below.

Other application : use the information below to configure your mailbox, and refer to the help pages of your application if needed.

(Semi-)Automatic configuration

Connection information

  1. Use your email address and Nubo password
  2. If you need to enter a server, use mail.nubo.coop
I have to choose between IMAP and POP3. What are they?

Many software packages offer the option of configuring mailboxes as "IMAP" or "POP3".

  • With IMAP, the contents of your entire inbox, including folders and sub-folders, as well as the various message statuses (read, unread, marked, replied to, forwarded...) are synchronized between your devices, so a change on one is reflected on the others.
  • With POP3, your software simply retrieves new messages from the inbox, without taking care of anything else, and deletes them at regular intervals, making them inaccessible on other devices, and deleting them from your webmail.

IMAP is more recent and is the recommended option.

I am being asked for several names (name, account name, full name, user name…). What should I do?

During configuration, you are often asked to enter the name of the person who will use this mailbox. This option can be called "name", "displayed name", "full name", "your name"... This field is free-form, you just have to enter what you want your correspondents to see when they receive your messages.

If you're asked for a "username", then this is the username associated with your account, so you'll need to re-enter your e-mail address (or your Nubo username - both should work).

If you see "account name" or "description", this is again a free-form field which will let you identify the account in the interface of the software or the application you are setting up.

Manual configuration

If that doesn't work, or you need to enter the information yourself, use the parameters below.

Full configuration information
Incoming (receive) Outgoing (send)
Protocol IMAP (or POP3) SMTP
Server mail.nubo.coop mail.nubo.coop
Port 993 465
SSL SSL/TLS SSL/TLS
Authentication Regular password Regular password
Identifier (user name) Your email address Your email address

Cloud Icon Cloud

The “Nextcloud” application gives you access to cloud storage and lets you configure the automatic upload of the folders of your choice (for example photos).

Install the application from the App Store.

How to connect to Nextcloud
  1. Upon opening, select “Connect”
  2. Enter cloud.nubo.coop as server name
  3. When the client application asks, log in with your Nubo identifier and password
Alternate method

This method lets you avoid having to enter all the information manually, but requires extra steps on a computer:

  1. Click on the QR code symbol (if it is not on the initial screen, click "Connect" first)
  2. Scan the code generated for the application password in the web interface of your cloud

Calendar App Tasks App Contacts App Calendar, tasks, and contacts

Follow these steps → Synchronizing with iOS [↗ Nextcloud Documentation] using the connection information below.

Connection information to use
  1. Enter cloud.nubo.coop as the connection URL
  2. Use your Nubo indentifier and the application password that you will have created before
To make an app password

Passwords software enable external applications to be connected using unique passwords.

You can create them and manage them yourself from your cloud.

  1. Open the page 'Security' of your cloud
  2. Enter the app name (at the bottom of the list of devices and sessions recently connected to your account)
  3. Click on 'Create a new app password'
  4. Write down or copy the password displayed, you won't be able to see it after.
  5. Click on 'Finished'
Good to know

When you are creating an app password

  • Give your application a recognisable name, so that you can find it easily in the list of connected sessions.
  • If you did not copy the password, delete the application from the list and start over
  • The QR-code only works with certain application who offer this option when enter login informations

Possible options

Click on the '…' next to an element of the list to display the options - 'Revoke': delete the element from the list, the device or the app will not have access to you account anymore - 'Delete the device' : start a process to erase your data from the application in question - If the application you are configuring does not need access to your files, deselect "Allow access to file manager".


Last update: December 16, 2023